Add “burrito master” to my resume

My dad likes to make the same thing for dinner every night. He grills some meat, he steams some vegetables, and dumps the pre-washed salad mix out on our plates. Routine is just great for him but I require variety. I know, it’s really quite sad that I am a 24-year-old with a bachelor’s degree who lives at home. Welcome to the recession. But I digress. With my dad cooking the same dinner all of the time, I’ve taken to making my own food.

Tonight was burrito night. If you care to please the burrito gods, I definitely recommend following this recipe:

Megan’s Awesome Chili Chicken Burrito (Makes 1, of course)

Ingredients:

4 oz. chicken breast, boneless, skinless

1 whole wheat tortilla

1 handful of spinach (yes, spinach. It was all I had and it worked wonderfully)

1 oz cheese, Mexican blend, cheddar, Monterey, whatever

1 dollop of sour cream

1/4 cup of your favorite pico de gallo (mine was my awesome, homemade pico de gallo, of course)

2 tsp chili powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tsp olive oil

Cover a small pan in the olive oil. Turn the heat on low and throw the chicken in. Cover each side of the chicken with the salt, pepper, and chili powder. Cover and let cook, about 4-5 minutes. Meanwhile, heat your tortilla with the cheese on top until the cheese is melted- either on the stove top or in the microwave. When the chicken is done, cut it into strips and put on the tortilla. Add the spinach, sour cream, and pico de gallo. Fold up and enjoy! YOU’RE WELCOME

Leave a Reply

