Mexican food among Mexican food

Ok, Salinas is pretty much Mexican food central. Wherever you are in Salinas, you are most likely within 100 feet of a taqueria. However, one specific restaurant holds a very special place in my heart, and that place is Cozumel. This is a small, family-run business located on North Main Street in Alvin Square. My family has been going to Cozumel once a week (at least) for as long as I can remember.

Cozumel offers your traditional Mexican fare: enchiladas, burritos, menudo, etc. Chips and salsa get served to you right away. Good chips and salsa – can’t stop won’t stop eating these chips and salsa. I sometimes venture into the world of the carne asada “fiesta tostada” or have the occasional chorizo breakfast burrito, but unless I tell them otherwise, the servers know to bring me a cheese enchilada. Those dishes come with my highest recommendations, along with the chile verde burrito. And if you get anything with bacon, dear god, I don’t know how they cook it, but that bacon is the most delicious, crispy bacon this mouth has ever savored.

One other commendation on Cozumel is their service. You can expect fast, friendly service with each visit to this hub of sabors Latino. You may even start to hold other restaurants to Cozumel service standards, just as my father does.

I highly recommend Cozumel for any meal in your life. I know you’ll enjoy it as much as or even more so than I.

Cozumel Mexican Restaurant: 1447 N. Main St., Salinas, CA 93906

Price Range: $5-15

Peace out, Megzz

Leave a Reply

